NEWS: 08.01.2019

Kramer’s strike voted goal of the year

Kramer’s strike voted goal of the year
Christoph Kramer's goal against Hannover 96, which has been named goal of the year.

Christoph Kramer’s strike against Hannover 96 has won the vote for Borussia’s goal of the year. The midfielder also scored the goal which came second in the rankings.

Foals fans had just over one week to vote on the FohlenApp for their 2018 goal of the year. With 24% of the votes, Christoph Kramer’s goal in February against Hannover 96 has been named the best strike of 2018. In the 72nd minute, the midfielder found himself in possession at the edge of the box, flicked the ball up and smashed home brilliantly. The goal, which earned Borussia all three points, was Kramer’s first goal from distance in his Bundesliga career.

“Thanks very much to the fans for voting for me, I’m very happy with the result. To have scored the goal of the year is an incredible feeling,” said Kramer after being informed that he had won. “I got a great ball from Lars Stindl and then it just sat up nicely for me. It looked as though the flick was intentional, but it wasn’t. Then I thought about hitting it with my left foot and suddenly the ball was in the back of the net.”

Kramer bags second as well

Kramer also managed to earn second place in the goal of the year vote with a different strike – his intriguing free-kick in the 3-0 win over VfL Wolfsburg, which garnered 21% of the votes. “I would have voted for my Wolfsburg goal myself, I thought it was a pretty cool goal.”

After Kramer’s two goals came Thorgan Hazard (18/19: Borussia vs. Hannover, 1-1), Alassane Plea (18/19: Werder Bremen vs. Borussia, 0-1), and Lars Stindl (18/19: Borussia vs. Hannover, 3-1). Florian Neuhaus (DFB-Pokal 18/19: BSC Hastedt vs. Borussia, 0-5) then followed, with Plea (18/19: VfL Wolfsburg vs. Borussia, 0-1) getting another goal on the list, and finally, Lars Stindl with another goal (17/18: Borussia vs. VfL Wolfsburg, 1-0).

Goals of the year (since 2011):

2018: Christoph Kramer (1:0 vs. Hannover 96)

2017: Raffael (3:0 vs. Hertha BSC)

2016: Thorgan Hazard (1:0 vs. Barcelona)

2015: Granit Xhaka (1:0 vs. FC Köln)

2014: Granit Xhaka (2:2 vs. Villareal)

2013: Juan Arango (2:1 vs. VfL Wolfsburg)

2012: Juan Arango (1:0 vs. VfL Wolfsburg)

2011: Igor de Camargo (1:0 vs. VfL Bochum)