NEWS: 14.06.2019

DFB-Pokal first round draw this Saturday

DFB-Pokal first round draw this Saturday
The DFB-Pokal first round draw takes place on Saturday (18:00 CEST).

The first round draw for the 2019/20 DFB-Pokal will take place this Saturday at 18:00 CEST. Borussia’s first competitive match of the new season will take place on the weekend of 9th-12th August 2019.

The Foals will find out on Saturday evening who the opponents will be for their first competitive match of the 2019/20 season. The DFB-Pokal first round draw will take place in the German football museum in Dortmund and will be conducted by 2003 Women’s World Cup winner Nia Künzer. DFB vice president Peter Frymuth will oversee proceedings as the 32 ties are drawn.

64 teams divided into two groups

The 64 teams participating in the first round draw have been divided into two different groups. All of the Bundesliga teams, including Borussia, and the top 14 teams from the 2018/19 Bundesliga 2 season will be in the first group. The remaining four teams from the second tier will join the four highest ranked 3. Liga teams in the second group as well as the 24 amateur teams representing their respective regional associations. The teams will also benefit from home advantage in the opening round so consequently, the Foals will play away from home regardless of the opposition drawn. The 32 ties will take place on the weekend of 9th-12th August 2019, a week before the new Bundesliga season kicks off. The exact timings for each match will be announced around 10-12 days after the draw is conducted.

This season, Borussia were knocked out by Bayer Leverkusen in a 5-0 second round home defeat. In the opening round, the Foals secured an impressive 11-1 victory at Oberliga side BSC Hastedt. Borussia most recently won the DFB-Pokal in 1995.

Potential opponents for the Foals in the DFB-Pokal first round (based on 2019/20 league ranking):

Bundesliga 2:

  • SV Sandhausen
  • VfL Osnabrück
  • Karlsruher SC
  • SV Wehen Wiesbaden

3. Liga:

  • FC Ingolstadt
  • FC Magdeburg
  • MSV Duisburg
  • Hallescher FC
  • Würzburger Kickers (Bavarian Cup winners)
  • Hansa Rostock (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Cup winners)
  • 1. FC Kaiserslautern (Southwest Cup winners)
  • KFC Uerdingen (Lower Rhine Cup winners)
  • Energie Cottbus (Brandenburg Cup winners)


  • VfB Eichstätt (best-placed amateur team in Bavaria, Bavarian Cup winners Würzburger Kickers had already qualified)
  • Waldhof Mannheim (Baden Cup runners-up, winners Karlsruher SC had already qualified)
  • VfB Germania Halberstadt (Saxony-Anhalt Cup runners-up, winners Hallescher SC had already qualified)
  • SV Drochtersen/Assel (Lower Saxony Cup winners)
  • FC Viktoria 1889 Berlin (Berlin Cup winners)
  • Chemnitzer FC (Saxony Cup winners)
  • SV Rödlinghausen (Westphalia Cup winners)
  • SSV Ulm 1846 Fußball (Württemberg Cup)
  • FSV Wacker Nordhausen (Thuringia Cup winners)
  • Alemannia Aachen (Middle Rhine Cup winners)
  • VfB Lübeck (Schleswig-Holstein Cup winners)
  • FC Saarbrücken (Saarland Cup winners)
  • SC Verl (Westphalia Play-Off winners)


  • KSV Baunatal (Hesse Cup runners-up, winners Wehen Wiesbaden had already qualified)
  • FC Oberneuland (Bremen Cup winners)
  • TuS Dassendorf (Hamburg Cup winners)
  • SV Atlas Delmenhorst (Lower Saxony Cup winners)
  • FC 08 Villingen (South Baden Cup winners)

Sixth division:

  • FSV Salmrohr (Rhineland Cup winners)