NEWS: 10.10.2019

Crucial Euro 2020 qualifiers for six Borussia players

Crucial Euro 2020 qualifiers for six Borussia players
Nico Elvedi and Switzerland travel to Denmark. Photo: imago images/RDB

In the coming three days, seven Foals are in action for their national teams, six of which are fighting for vital points in their bids to qualify for Euro 2020.


László Bénes is the first Borussia player in action this Thursday evening. The midfielder and the Slovakia team take on Wales at home in Trnava at 20:45 (CEST). “It is a really important game for us,” said Bénes, it is easy to see why; right now Slovakia are level on points (9) with Hungary in Group E and only ahead on goal difference. Wales are hot on their heels, sitting on 6 points with a game in hand.


Kylian Mbappé withdrew from the France squad due to a thigh injury, so Alassane Plea has been called up to replace him. The reigning world champions head to Reykjavik to take on Iceland on Friday (20:45 CEST). This match really does present a top of the table clash in Group H, which is currently topped by France on 15 points. Turkey are level on points with France and Iceland are currently sitting on 12.


Sommer, Nico Elvedi, Denis Zakaria and Breel Embolo are currently away with Switzerland, who face Denmark in Copenhagen on Saturday evening (18:00 CEST), are a bit under pressure in Group D. The Swiss are on 8 points, behind Denmark (9) and the Republic of Ireland (11). Although the Swiss have a game in hand, the situation is not without danger. “It is annoying that we have already dropped four points,” said Elvedi, “It is important that Switzerland make it to the Euros. We mustn’t miss out on at least second place.”


In a bid to qualify for U21 Euro 2021 in Hungary and Slovenia, the Denmark U21 side host Northern Ireland in Aalborg this Thursday evening (18:00 CEST). The Danes have played one game of qualification so far, which they won 2-1 against Romania, while Northern Ireland have had to settle for two draws in their first two games. All nine group winners and the best-placed runner up will qualify directly for the final tournament, while the other eight runners up will enter a play-off process.